Skip to content

How not to dress at the RSYC!

July 15, 2010

Whoops! RSYC in my hellies.

I have found the RSYC to be very friendly and relatively informal and provide great hospitality. I was last at Ocean Village in March when the Emperor Neil collected his prizes for a race win and second place in the RSYC Frostbite series. It was a bright but bitterly cold day so I was wearing a thermal layer. We quickly moored the yacht after the racing and hopped up to the clubhouse for a beer only to realise that I would quickly overheat in the centrally heated bar. The race officer of the day gave me special dispensation to peel down a bit and sit in my hellies. How cool is that!

HOEOCA has also visited the RYSC several times over the years for November Rallies, last was 2008 with The Theakston’s Old Peculiers. There is photographic evidence!

For this Saturday night at RSYC Gins Clubhouse, Beaulieu River, we’re sharing the evening with a Folkboat Rally (8 boats) so I suggest we follow convention with a smartish casual dress code for the evening. Our host, Robert, has told me polos and dress shorts are acceptable. We should avoid t-shirts, surf shorts and denim jeans please.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

